Formula 51

Woo.

STILL recovering after an amazing trip to Ireland. I wrestled 16 matches in the span of 9 days and that can certainly take a lot out of a man. The rest has been good though, giving me a chance to catchup on some good music and my neglected DVD collection, but the itch is setting in and I’ll get my first scratch on November 20th at CHIKARA’s Scornucopia event in Easton, PA. I don’t think I can even put into proper words how excited I am to be back in effect. It gets even better when I heard I’ll be doing my thing alongside none other than Da Soul Touchaz at that.

Da Soul Touchaz

Da Soul Touchaz in full effect, rocking red velvet cake colors.

My first time ever seeing Da Soul Touchaz was the 2008 installment of the King of Trios.  I was hooked from the promo, but it was obvious these cats had style for days and were exciting to watch in the ring. To see the kind of reaction they were getting in just two matches and how badly the crowd wanted to see them do in F.I.S.T. always makes for good viewing to me. My travels would later lead to me getting to actually meet them in Illinois for an IWA-Mid South show; Rockett, Trauma, and C Red being the representers that night. They proved to be as cool as I expected and I vividly remember the epic crossover contest in the locker room between Marshe and of all people, Egotistico Fantastico. Just WOW. lol

But back on track, it’s gonna be a blast getting to team with a squad of their caliber and it’s gonna be all win for the fans in attendance when they get to see such a splendiforus event (credit: Chappelle’s Show) for themselves live; S&S about to crank this thang up.

-Ireland was a real blast and it was so cool to experience a different culture for a little while. It’s an awesome hybrid of the old and historical, fused with shiny and new. I can also confirm that the fields are as green and vivid as I pictured them.

Speaking of pictures….   

AT DAH BAR~!

Guinness' for the boys. Mandrake(Ireland), Simon(Ireland). Me(US), Shock(Italy), Tristan Archer(France), Joey Hayes(England), Danny Hope(England), CJ Banks(England)...DEM ROOM 5 BOYS~!

USA's Sugar Dunkerton and Italy's Shock

The US' Sugar Dunkerton and Italy's Shock showing proper respect post match. Beautiful thing when two native countrymen from different countries can do what they love in another country they're not native to.

 

European Sports Conference in Down, North Ireland

Walter Alexander, Tattoo Charlie, IWW Unified Champion Mandrake, and IWW Owner/Promoter Simon Rochford at our table at the European Sports Conference in Downpatrick, North Ireland. That daper jacket in the empty chair is mine 🙂

A lot of these as you’ll see come from the European Sports Conference in Downpatrick, North Ireland.

I chose this for a reason.

Look at what you see. The SPORT of pro wrestling on display for suit and tie/fine dress wearing delegates of the US, Ireland, UK, Italy, Romania, Austria, Poland, France, etc as we call come together to create not only banter, but an experience. I could have never imagined living to have a moment such as this where a wrestling ring would share the same room as a 4 course fine meal; Wrestling at The Chase style. It was a humbling experience to be sure and really makes you realize the scope this business truly has. It warms my heart to no end to know that I now have brothers across oceans that I’d need passports to see.

ROOM 5 FOR LIFE~! And slingshot splashes for all the haters….(lol, sorry, that inside joke won’t get explained until the eventual Sugar D shoot vid in about eh…30 years. Gotta get my coke habit, 4 ex-wives, a release, and a DUI first :p)

If you wanna see more of just the splendor that was Ireland, I got two photo albums dedicated to it at http://www.facebook.com/sweetsugardunkerton

I look at it like a 9 day-dream that I couldn’t believe was real until I saw the pictures for myself. The Irish Whip tour was a blast and I appreciate their crew for making me feel so at home and challenging my in the ring. I feel stronger and sharper after hanging with you guys and I’m also going to bleed a little green from this point forward 😉

-How awesome was Old School RAW last night? SLICK! LORD ALFRED HAYES PROMO BLURBS! SHIEKY BABY! HOWARD FINKEL!

I do want to single out something that gave me chills at the show end. Piper’s promo about never holding the WWE title. Promos like that are why I hate the “scripted promo” stuff I hear about. If he was scripted, he transcended whatever was on paper. If there was no script, I’m not surprised. The emotion, delivery, and message was something so special and gave such a rub to the championship and to the title match for Orton and Barrett. Take notes.

It was cool to just see what was coming out of the hat next on this edition of RAW and the pacing, content, and replay value of it all is definitely up there. I intended to tune in for just a few minutes then peep Red Heat (GOVERNATOR~!), but I was gripped and couldn’t stop watching until the glorious end. Bravo. Any other feelings (and jokes) I had on it can be viewed via my Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/sugardunkerton

TRUE EMBARRASSING STORY FOLLOWS:  Naturally, I took many a photo with fans over in Ireland. Many for scrapbooks, newspapers, etc. HOWEVER…I had NO earthly idea until like the 6th or 7th day into my trip that a peace where your inner hand is facing you is an INSULT of high regard.

-Pause for laughter-

If I had the pigment to blush, your boy definitely would have been doing so.

In the States, a peace sign is a peace sign naturally; so no ill will was meant. Sadly, all I could do was think back to every picture I hit that kind of peace sign in and shaking my head. “HEY KIDS, TELL YOUR PARENTS UP YOURS! NOW SMILE!”

So much for my family friendly marketability…..but at least now I get why Desmond Wolfe (Have you seen him? Tell me have you seen him/seen him/Awwww!) throws his “peace” signs that way. Dirty pool, old man…

-My music store travels lead me to some quality music. I get a laugh thinking about how “underground” for the States is mainstream for Europe; and given what passes for mainstream here at times, I’ll play in the dirt for as long as possible. Tinie Tempah, Imelda May, The Script, Kasabian, The Heavy, Swedish House Mafia, and Devlin. All these guys are of differing genres (and so are my tastes), but research them and give em’ a listen, PLEASE. Lot of these guys aren’t readily available on our side of the pond, but deserve to be heard no doubt. A few standouts…

Miami 2 Ibiza – Tinie Tempah & Swedish House Mafia

Underdog – Kasabian

-Barbara Streisand by Duck Sauce rules you. That is all. Heard it in a gas station in Ballyfermont and have been hooked ever since.

– I deserve some sort of pat on the back. I managed to get an inflated basketball that was in my suitcase through Irish and US customs with no issue. Although, I don’t quite get why it’s harder to get INTO my own country as opposed to out of it :p

– For my PCW (http://www.platinumchampionshipwrestling.com) and Rampage Pro (http://www.rampageprowrestling.net)  fans, I’m far from done with EITHER organization. See you guys soon 🙂

– I hate to end this blog on a sort of perturbed note, but it begs to be mentioned. Recently, I wrote a blog for CHIKARA Pro in regards to the upcoming 8 man tag featuring the Soul Touchaz/Myself AKA The S&S Express vs BDK. Was shocked to find a comment or two around the way that mentioned “Quack can’t write black” etc etc…not the first time I’ve heard that about those blogs.

My blogs are 100% written by me and comments like that spark something in me that upsets me to no end. On a personal note, from time to time, people have called me the “whitest black guy they know”.

-Let it sink in-

So naturally, I want to know the basis. See, I didn’t know you could ACT like a color. Or race for that matter. I assumed we all just were, especially in 2010 where color of skin or background can’t hold you back from even something as mighty as a Presidency. Yet because I jump between “ebonically laced bravado” and well-spoken manner, have no prison record, choose not to carry myself like a stereotypical “thug” idiot (NOTICE, I said STEREOTYPICAL idiot. I’m in my own breed of idiocy thank you), and can find culture in anything and everything…I’m not BLACK enough?

Grow up. This is 2010, not 1864 and character is the only thing people can act/walk/talk/whatever like. Typecasting by color or background has to be the most ignorant thing to get popular since the pet rock.

I bleed red like you don’t I? 

– On a lighter note, I’m coming home to you CHIKARA Nov 20th and 21st in Easton and Philly respectively. Peep http://www.chikarapro.com for more details in their Events section.

I’m fortunate to watch you all bare witness to me hopefully become something great.

And if I don’t….don’t tell anybody. Keep it between us. I’m sure nobody’s watching or reading.  -wink-

DUNKS 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Formula 51

  1. Gail Seda

    Sugar,
    You know I love & respect you. Your most recent blog was GREAT. Having said that I sadly concur with you that people are ignorant. You are a well spoken, funny and caring individual. Anyone who doesn’t know that or can’t see that is stupid & blind.
    See you Nov. 20 & 21! Behind you all the way…always.
    Love, Gail

  2. Xena

    LOve it!!! Every Word! The ending of Your blog is ALL TRUTH! To define insanity ,To do the same thing over and over thinking there is going to be a diffrent result. I am very proud of You! Not only as a wrestler but as My friend! You are 1 of My Hero’s!!! I Heart You My Harleem Sugar Dunkerton globe trotter!!! ;p
    BTW… Congrats getting the Basketball through the airports!!! You are THE MAN!!!

Leave a Reply

